More +
A Guide to Love, God, Prayer, Meditation, & Peace Within You—Right Now

Extending Love and The 5 Love Languages

No comments

The 5 Love LanguagesBefore discussing The 5 Love Languages, as you may know we are big on “extending love.” What is “extending love?” Extending Love is a term that my wife and I coined for a technique the Holy Spirit gave to us nearly 15 years ago for relating to our thoughts, our emotions, one another, and the world in a loving way, which is the same way the Holy Spirit relates to the world. We’ve been teaching this technique for many years and it’s one of the primary foundations of our work.

Recently, a friend of ours introduced us to a really fantastic book that’s been around for a long time called The 5 Love Languages. For those of you who are unfamiliar with it, it’s a wonderful book for people in relationships written by Dr. Gary Chapman. In the book, Dr. Chapman discusses the five primary love languages which describe the five primary ways people like to give and receive love in relationships.

One of the things we’ve learned over the years is that the Holy Spirit speaks to people where they are. This means that the Holy Spirit joins with people in exactly the right way for them. The Holy Spirit meets us and communicates to us using the words, methods, and forms that best match our personalities, wants, and needs. What I love about The 5 Love Languages is that it’s a wonderful demonstration of this truth, that we each have certain preferences for the ways we like to share love with one another and be loved in return. When we join with another “where they are,” we are being the Holy Spirit in that moment. When we practice speaking another person’s love language, we are joining them “where they are,” so they are capable of receiving the love that we are extending to them.

The moral of the story is, if you want the love that you have for someone to be received, do your best to share your love with them in the way that THEY want to receive it, as opposed to sharing our love with them in only the ways that WE want to give it. When we have their best interest at heart, we truly want them to receive our love. When we are willing to do whatever it takes for them to receive our love, we are truly serving them in that moment, instead of our own needs to give love for our own benefit. By extending love in ways that another can receive, we are serving both parties at the same time. We feel fulfilled that our love is being received, and the other person feels fulfills receiving our love.

I think The 5 Love Languages is a wonderful demonstration of how the Holy Spirit shows up in relationships. If you have any challenges at all with your partner or spouse and you haven’t read this book, I highly recommend you take a look at it. I’m not pitching this book for any personal gain. This book has been out for years and is already a New York Times bestseller. I can tell you honestly that it deserves that title. I now know why millions of people have read it and benefited from it. It falls right in line with what the Holy Spirit has taught us over the years.

Lots of love and blessings to you!

DavidPaul Doyle